Global Press Archive

Global Press Archive contains digitized historical news sources from around the world. On this platform, Rutgers has access to the newspaper collections that are available to Center for Research Libraries members, including:

• East African Newspapers (1943-2017)
• El Caribe Digital Archive (1956 - 2021)
• Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers (1989-2001)
• Post-Perestroika Newspapers (1984 - 2023)
• Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers (1899 - 1939)

Rutgers can also access the Open Access collections on this platform (which also are available on the OA version of Global Press Archive). Highlights include:

• Choya Shinbun Digital Archive (1875-1889)
• Daily Observer Digital Archive (1981 - 2016)
• Die Transveler Digital Archive (1938 - 1985)
• El Mundo Digital Archive (1919 - 1990)
• Imperial Russian Newspapers (1782-1917)
• Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (1807-1929)
• Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (1911-1949)
• Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (1870-2019)
• Noticias Gráficas Digital Archive (1943-1949)
• South Asian Newspapers (1850-1992)
• Southeast Asian Newspapers (1839-1976)

Each newspaper issue in these collections has been fully digitized and is fully searchable, including all articles, obituaries, advertisements, editorials, and illustrations. These newspapers reflect varying historical perspectives and opinions from around the world, and some may include views or terminology now considered outdated, biased, or offensive.

East View also offers additional Global Press Archive newspaper collections for sale. Rutgers has not purchased any of these additional collections.