ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
On January 7, 2024, EBSCOhost databases are moving to a new UI. You may access the new UI now. As of January 7, 2024, all links will redirect to the new UI.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a national online database of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC includes citations for journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, dissertations, theses, and other materials in the field of education. A majority of the journals are peer reviewed.
Documents indexed in ERIC are produced by scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, state agencies, and local agencies. Also, individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses.
This version of ERIC, available through EBSCOhost, includes “Get It @ R” links to full text available through Rutgers, and it allows cross-searching with other EBSCO databases. The Department of Education also offers a free publicly accessible version of ERIC.
ERIC includes primarily indexing, citations, and abstracts, but it also includes some full text documents. The full text of some older educational documents (those with ED numbers) indexed in ERIC is available in the microfiche series ERIC Reports, which is organized by ED number. Rutgers owns a partial collection of this microfiche. ERIC is the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print indexes Research in Education, Resources in Education, and Current index to journals in education: CIJE.
1966-present.