Sex & Sexuality

Sex & Sexuality is a collection of digitized primary sources documenting attitudes toward sexuality, gender, and sexual behavior in the United States, Great Britain, and Australia from the 19th-21st centuries. In this collection, Rutgers has access to the following modules:

• Module I: Research Collections from The Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections: Contains research files, notes, correspondence, advice columns, unpublished files, artifacts, and more from the tenures of the first three Institute directors: Dr. Alfred C. Kinsey, Dr. Paul Gebhard, and Dr. June Reinisch.
• Module II: Self-Expression, Community and Identity: LGBTQI+ individual personal histories, accounts of grass-roots organizations, diaries and correspondence, and personal accounts of sexuality and gender expression sourced from archives in the United States, Britain, and Australia. 

Materials in this collection are sourced from The Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections, ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives at University of Southern California Libraries, the National Archives of the United Kingdom, Sheffield Library and Archives, University of Sydney, West Yorkshire Archive Service, The Keep at the University of Sussex, and the British Film Institute.

The collection was prepared with the oversight of an editorial board of scholars from Britain and the United States. Sensitive or personal identifying information has been removed or redacted across all materials in this collection. Please note that this collection contains sexually explicit material.